Philippines

Ricardo Sunga III (University of the Philippines)

What is the relation between Philippine anti-torture laws, and the incidence of torture in the Philippines? To what extent have measures adopted to curb torture succeeded in their aims? These are the questions that my research sought to answer.

This chapter critically examines the Philippine experience of torture from 1985 up to 2013. It considers the high incidence of torture for the entirety of this period under review. Torture was at its peak at the beginning of the period, at the tail end of the regime of President Ferdinand Marcos who had declared martial law and used torture as a weapon against his opponents. Torture decreased slightly following the end of the Marcos regime, though its frequency, severity and geographical spread remained high.

This chapter also explores Philippine law and practice relating to detention, and takes into account the advances in the law, culminating in the passage of a Philippine Anti-Torture Act in 2009. The chapter also considers the Philippine record in the prosecution of torture cases, both prior to the passage of the Philippine Anti-Torture Act, and subsequent to it. Before the passage of this law, there were convictions of torture perpetrators for a range of offences from murder to coercion. Subsequently, some charges have been filed for violations of the Philippine Anti-Torture Act of 2009, though there have been no convictions thus far.

The chapter also considers the growing potential of the Philippine Commission on Human Rights, established in 1987 by the Philippine Constitution, as an independent complaints and monitoring mechanism, equipped with the power to investigate complaints of torture and to visit places of detention.

The people of the Philippines have an expression: doble kara. It means ‘of two faces.’ This is a rather accurate description of the state of torture prevention in the country, where law and practice remain highly divergent.

Philippines

Ricardo Sunga III (Université des Philippines)

Quel est l’impact de la législation philippine contre la torture sur la prévalence de la torture dans ce pays ? Jusqu’à quel point les mesures adoptées pour freiner le recours à la torture ont atteint leurs objectifs ? Telles sont les questions auxquelles cette recherche vise à répondre.

Ce chapitre analyse le recours à la torture aux Philippines de 1985 jusqu’en 2013 et examine les causes de la forte prévalence de la torture durant l’ensemble de la période étudiée. Le recours de la torture a connu un pic au début de la période étudiée et à la fin du régime du président Ferdinand Marcos qui avait instauré la loi martiale et utilisé la torture comme arme contre ses adversaires. La torture a légèrement diminué après la fin du régime Marcos, bien que sa fréquence, sa gravité et sa répartition géographique soient demeurées élevées.

Ce chapitre examine aussi la législation philippine et la pratique relatives à la détention et prend en compte les progrès qui ont culminé avec l’adoption d’une loi contre la torture en 2009. Le chapitre examine le bilan des poursuites des auteurs d’actes de torture à la fois avant et après l’adoption de la loi contre la torture. Avant l’adoption de ce texte, certains tortionnaires ont été condamnés pour une série d’infractions allant du meurtre à la coercition. Par la suite, certaines inculpations ont été prononcées pour des infractions aux termes de la loi contre la torture de 2009, mais cela n’a débouché, jusqu’à présent, sur aucune condamnation.

Le chapitre examine aussi le potentiel croissant de la Commission philippine des droits de l’homme qui a été créée, en 1987, par la Constitution en tant que mécanisme indépendant de traitement des plaintes et de monitoring habilité à enquêter sur les plaintes de torture et à visiter les lieux de détention.

Les habitants des Philippines ont une expression : doble kara qui signifie « double face ». Cela donne une idée assez précise de l’état de la prévention de la torture dans le pays, où la législation et la pratique restent très divergentes.