Paraguay - NPM Structure

Opcat status

OPCAT Ratification December 2, 2005
UNCAT Ratification March 12, 1990
NPM Type

New Specialised Institution

NPM Legal Framework

Law N° 4288 of 27 April 2011 (Spanish version)

The Mechanism is composed of:

  • A National Commission on Prevention, which chairs and represents the Mechanism (composed of 9 Commissioners: 6 permanent members and 3 substitutes, elected by a Selecting Body)
  • Escabinos (citizens who have an expertise in specific fields and who are elected by the National Commission)
  • A technical team