OPCAT: New Ratifications and Signatures

Thursday, September 23, 2010

On 28 September 2010, the Netherlands ratified the Optional Protocol to the UN Convention Against Torture, with Zambia signing on 27 September. Other recent ratifications were the Democratic Republic of the Congo on 23 September and Gabon on 22 September. Both Bulgaria and Panama signed on 22 September.

Click to view the status of Ratifications and Signatures worldwide


DRC Ratification

23 September 2010, Democratic Republic of the Congo Ratification: H. E. Mr. Alexis Thambwe Mwamba, Minister of Foreign Affairs


Gabon OPCAT Ratification

22 September 2010, Gabon Ratification: H. E. Mr. Paul Toungui, Minister of Foreign Affairs


Bulgarian OPCAT Signature

22 September 2010, Bulgaria Signature: H. E. Mr. Nickolay Mladenov, Foreign Minister

Photos Courtesy of the UN