News on Prevention

EU, Argentina and Mongolia launch global Alliance for Torture-Free Trade
September 20, 2017
Summer University focused on monitoring of police detention
August 4, 2016

OPCAT Status

OPCAT Ratification : July 24, 2006
UNCAT Ratification : November 28, 1995
SPT Member : Mr. Victor Zaharia (Vice-Chairperson)
NPM Designated :

Council for the Prevention of Torture, composed of 7 members, including the Ombudsperson (Moldovan Centre for Human Rights), the Ombudsperson for children and 5 members proposed by the civil society.

NPM Type :

Ombuds Plus Institution

NPM Legal Framework :

Law N° 52 on the People's Advocate (Ombudsperson's Office) - 3 April 2014


Torture Laws compilation